top of page

Advocacy & Education Policy

We advocate for quality public education for all. Help us support our vision & mission by getting involved, join our active campaigns, and have your voice heard.

Educators need to share their stories. We encourage you to attend this event on August 22nd to speak with your state lawmakers.

2023 Legislative Session Summary

LCEA members are activists. They share their stories and they speak up.

During the 2022 Florida Legislative Session over 200 contacts were made by LCEA members to state lawmakers in the form of emails, calls, speeches during committees, and in person meetings.

If you are any of the following and are willing to share your story as an educator please

Legislative Session:

  • March 7th - May 5th - 2023 Florida Legislative Session

We are looking for members interested in going to Tallahassee or meet here locally with elected officials. If you are willing to share your story as an educator CLICK HERE.

What to expect for the 2023 Legislative Session
CLICK HERE for FEA’s solutions
CLICK HERE for FEA’s Legislative Focus

The 2022 Florida Legislative session has ended.
Click to see the FEA Legislative page for what bills were filed.

Advocacy Opportunities:

  • LCEA Republican Cadre: CLICK HERE for more information​

  • LCEA Lobbying & Advocacy Committee: CLICK HERE to sign up

Speaking Up:

Lake County Educators speaking at the School Board meeting on November 8th, 2021. For more  information see our advocacy page.

To speak at a meeting fill out a public input card located at the entrance to the Board meeting room and submit to the Board Clerk before the start of the meeting.  Speakers will be given 3 minutes to address the Board during the beginning of the Meeting or Workshop.  

The following seats are up for re-election November 2022:
District 1
District 3
District 5

Lake County School Board

Meetings are on Mondays. Workshops generally start around 9 A.M. & Board Meetings are at 6 P.M.


Meetings and Workshops can be viewed through YouTube at: or you can attend in person at the Lake County School District Office, 201 West Burleigh Boulevard, Tavares, Florida.

Contact Information for your school board & district leadership: 

District 1: Bill Mathias,

District 2: Tyler Brandenburg,

District 3: Marc Dodd,

District 4: Mollie Cunningham,

District 5: Stephanie Luke,

Superintendent: Diane Kornegay,


For more information see the Lake County school Board Website: 

Florida State Senate

Florida legislature

Regular Session 2022

March 7th - May 5th - 2023 Florida 

Contact Information:

Dennis Baxley (R), Florida State Senate District 13  (850) 487-5012 Senate VOIP: 5012,
District Office (352) 750-3133, Senate VOIP 41200

Legislative Aide: Matthew McClain,

Florida House of Representatives

Florida legislature

Regular Session 2023

March 7th - May 5th - 2023 Florida 

Contact information:

Taylor Yarkosky (R), Florida House of Representatives District 25

 (850) 717-5025,

District office: (352) 989-9734

Legislative Aides: Amanda Geltz,, and Jackson Damon,

Keith Truenow (R), Florida House of Representatives District 26 

(850) 717-5026,
District Office Phone: (352) 742-6275

Legislative Aide: Aline Guy,

Stan McClain (R), Florida House of Representatives District 27

(850) 717-5027,
District Office (352) 732-1313

Legislative Aides: Jennifer Treiber,

Florida Department of Education

The FL DOE  

Contact information:

Commissioner Manny Diaz, Jr

CLICK HERE to learn about him

Commissioner's Office Staff:
Karen Dennis
Phone: 850-245-9663

See the full leadership team under the commissioner CLICK HERE

State Board of Education Members

CLICK HERE to learn about them
Chair, Tom Grady –
Vice Chair, Ben Gibson –
Monesia Brown –
Ryan Petty –
Joe York –

Esther Byrd -

Grazie P. Christie -

bottom of page