top of page
FEA Loby.jpg

Advocacy & Education Policy

We advocate for quality public education for all. Help us support our vision & mission by getting involved, join our active campaigns, and have your voice heard.

If you are any of the following and are willing to share your story as an educator please

Legislative Session:

  • Jan. 17-20 - Third interim committee week for 2023 legislative session 

  • Jan. 23-27 - Fourth interim committee week for 2023 legislative session 

  • March 7th - May 5th - 2023 Florida Legislative Session

We are looking for members interested in going to Tallahassee or meet here locally with elected officials. If you are willing to share your story as an educator CLICK HERE.

LCEA members are activists. They share their stories and they speak up.

During the 2022 Florida Legislative Session over 200 contacts were made by LCEA members to state lawmakers in the form of emails, calls, speeches during committees, and in person meetings.

What to expect for the 2023 Legislative Session
CLICK HERE for FEA’s solutions
CLICK HERE for FEA’s Legislative Focus

lobby.jpg
LC Delegation 1.10.23.PNG
324859385_5329122870520738_1883735181237498028_n.jpg
Legislative session highlights.png

The 2022 Florida Legislative session has ended.
Click to see the FEA Legislative page for what bills were filed.

274715008_10159178444684262_5434707537106693754_n.jpg

Advocacy Opportunities:

  • LCEA Republican Cadre: CLICK HERE for more information​

  • LCEA Lobbying & Advocacy Committee: CLICK HERE to sign up

Speaking Up:

Lake County Educators speaking at the School Board meeting on November 8th, 2021. For more  information see our advocacy page.

LCEA School Board meeting 4.jpg
To speak at a meeting fill out a public input card located at the entrance to the Board meeting room and submit to the Board Clerk before the start of the meeting.  Speakers will be given 3 minutes to address the Board during the beginning of the Meeting or Workshop.  
The following seats are up for re-election November 2022:
District 1
District 3
District 5

Lake County School Board

Meetings are on Mondays. Workshops generally start around 9 A.M. & Board Meetings are at 6 P.M.

 

Meetings and Workshops can be viewed through YouTube at:  http://www.youtube.com/lakeschools or you can attend in person at the Lake County School District Office, 201 West Burleigh Boulevard, Tavares, Florida.

Contact Information for your school board & district leadership: 

District 1: Bill Mathias, mathiasb@lake.k12.fl.us

District 2: Tyler Brandenburg, brandeburgt@lake.k12.fl.us

District 3: Marc Dodd, doddm@lake.k12.fl.us

District 4: Mollie Cunningham, cunninghamm@lake.k12.fl.us

District 5: Stephanie Luke, lukes@lake.k12.fl.us

Superintendent: Diane Kornegay, KornegayD@lake.k12.fl.us

 

For more information see the Lake County school Board Website: https://www.lake.k12.fl.us/school-board 

Florida State Senate

Florida legislature

Regular Session 2022

Tuesday, January 11- Friday, March 11

Contact Information:

Dennis Baxley (R) (850) 487-5012 Senate VOIP: 5012, baxley.dennis.web@flsenate.gov
District Office (352) 750-3133, Senate VOIP 41200

LCEA teachers are heroes.jpg
fund-our-future-logo-300x300.png

Florida House of Representatives

Florida legislature

Regular Session 2022

Tuesday, January 11- Friday, March 11

Contact information:

Representative R) (850) 717-5033

District Office Phone: (352) 315-4445

Representative Keith L. Truenow (R) (850) 717-5031, keith.truenow@myfloridahouse.gov.
District Office Phone: (352) 742-6275


Representative (R) (850) 717-5032 1101, 
District Office (352) 989-9100 1172

Florida Department of Education

The FL DOE 

Contact information:

Commissioner Richard Corcoran

Commissioner's Office Staff:
Karen Dennis
Phone: 850-245-0505
Email: Commissioner@fldoe.org

 

State Board of Education Members
Chair, Tom Grady – Tom.Grady@fldoe.org
Vice Chair, Ben Gibson – Ben.Gibson@fldoe.org
Monesia Brown – Monesia.Brown@fldoe.org
Marva Johnson – Marva.Johnson@fldoe.org
Ryan Petty – Ryan.Petty@fldoe.org
Andy Tuck – Andy.Tuck@fldoe.org
Joe York – Joe.York@fldoe.org

IMG_3257.JPG.jpg
272691875_10220044936889154_343443662712
bottom of page